Saturday, May 28, 2011

My Bucket List

Ok, so maybe I'm to young to be writing this. I'm only 16, but I don't want to miss out on ANYTHING in life. - my mantra  ;)

1.      GO to Greece
2.      Go to Tahiti and get a hut on the water
3.      Go skydiving
4.      Go to the Olympics
5.      Record a song
6.      Go parasailing
7.      Walk in a Fashion Show during NY fashion week
8.      Spend a day with Blake Lively
9.      Spend a month on a yacht  … going to different islands  
10.  Be part of an Indian Wedding
11.  Go to Abu Dubai
12.  Be on the Jimmy Fallon late night show
13.  Be on SNL
14.  Meet Ellen DeGeneres
15.  Go to Coachella or a music festival
16.  Go gambling in Vegas for a week and each night dress up as a different person
17.   Get either a tattoo or a really long lasting henna of 1 John 4:18
18.  Learn how to speak French
19.  Go to New Orleans for Mardi Gras
20.  DJ at a huge party or club
21.  Watch a sunrise and sunset on the beach
22.  Design a Fireworks show
23.  Cook up an Italian meal with an old Italian women in Italy
24.  Visit a Volcano
25.  Be part of a secret mission – like get smart
26.  Conduct a symphony orchestra??
27.  Play a volleyball game on the beaches of Madrid
28.  Be on the red carpet
29.  Patent a phrase/create a word
30.  Ride a gondola in Italy
31.  Ride in a NASCAR race
32.  Do a stand-up comedy show
33.  Go horseback riding on the beach
34.  Crowd surfing
35.  Go to Holi – the Festival of Colors

Thursday, May 12, 2011

Nerves

So tonight is a big night. Well, not THAT big, but big in some way. I am part of the glee club here at shcool and tonight is the concert.

TONIGHT. I used to get nervous just when I said it out loud, but just writing about it makes me nervous.

Ughhh the stress of getting dress in our hidieous and ugly ever-so-lovely costumes and singing for an hour and a half (count that people.... 90 mins) under bright, glaring lights that make you so hot that you almost faint off the riser is not fun. And yeah, guess who is on the TOP riser with NOTHING behind her so incase she falls she has the hard and painful soft floor to land on ......

                                ME

Yep. Ohh the joys of being a memeber of glee club. Now granted, it's not as bad as you think. We have some good times, laugh a lot, learn different songs, and make tons of memories. Plus, dressing up in our coustumes is always .... interesting. Especially when you are trying to figure out where a bow tie goes.

But, on a less confusing note, I'll fill you in on some of the songs we are singing. We start out with Walking on Sunshine/Halo (like the mix from Glee), then go to a really pretty song called Angels Amoung us. Next is the Beattles Medley (which has actually grown on me and has become one of my favs), Pink Panther (which I hate - I refuse to sing it; I don't like the badaba daba doooos), a wicked medley and a couple others that I probably just forgot. So, it's safe to say that we will be doing a lot of singing and oh I forgot, the director adds dancing in too. So we will be doing a lot of everything.

Now, the only problem that has come with all this work is that there might possibly, maybe, on the slight chance, be an issue with the fact that I don't know some of the moves. See, I'm not a dancer. Not the slightest bit. The only time I actually dance (if you even call it dancing) is at parties with blasting music that can't stop you from moving.

So here's whent the Nerves come in. Yeah, i'm nervous that I will forget a couple of motions. I'm praying that something will come over me and I'll magically just know all of the steps. But you know, that the probability of that happening is slim to none. Luckiy, I'm not directly in the front so that's a plus; if I don't mess up maybe no one will see me....

Oh well! What ever happens, happens, I guess.

So wish me luck! Hopefully I won't make any mistakes and these jitters will leave in a hurry!

P.S./Warning:
Incase you hear a loud BANG druing the perforamnce, don't fret, it's probabaly only me that fell off the risers. You might hear some ouches and ahhhs from the audience, but have no fear because I will be sure to do it in harmony! 0_o

Love,
Kara Jae

Saturday, April 30, 2011

The fairytale of a Lifetime


There are honestly no words to describe how beautiful the wedding was. Yes, I DID get up at 4am just to watch the guests arrives with their magnificent fascinators (So cool)! I think everyone was waiting so long for the moment to see Prince William marry the girl he loves, and finally the day arrived! Her dress was stunning. It was very traditional with work from the bottom of the dress moving upward. I was in love with the waist and up. The lace sleeves and plunging neckline fit the bride and princess-to-be perfectly! The day seemed perfect and to end the public ceremonies, they sealed it with a kiss! (Actually TWO!) haha

I wish I was some sort of royalty just so I could be invited to the reception! Maybe someday......
BUT while I wait for that to happen, I'll set my hopes of meeting a British boy and falling in love with him instead!

I feel so lucky because normally most people read about fairytales, but I witnessed one today! AW!

Sweet dreams...
Love, your future princess, (hopefully)
Kara  Jae

Friday, April 22, 2011

The Royal Wedding

So yesterday I sat down to listen to the soothing voice of Barbara Walters as she narrated the 20/20 special of the royal marriage!

*Insert Sigh here*

I wish I was marrying a prince (actually take out the marrying and put in: knew/liked/fell in love with) - for now at least. haha

The special talked about Kate and William and how they grew up in their own lives. They are both talented, intelligent, worldly people. At some point, their paths crossed and it sparked a love affair. They have stayed together (They sorta had a on-and-off relationship. The reason was mostly due to the media making a big deal over everything) and truly do love each other. I think it's wonderful that even though she is a "commoner",  it really doesn't matter to the Queen. She just wants her grandson to be happy! It goes to prove that it doesn't matter what label a person is born with or has. What matters is who she really is. Nonetheless, through obstacles and waiting (9 YEARS OMG) they are together at last! Awwww how cute!

I adore them both together! She is so pretty and he's a cutie. Like what better pair can you think of? Honestly?!



See if you can find the special and watch it when you do! In the mean time, I will be getting some extra sleep so when I wake up early as early as 4am to watch the wedding, I don't fall asleep!

Lovely dreaming and wishing,
Kara Jae

P.S. Everyone has a prince/princess out there, you just have to look hard enough to find them :)

Saturday, April 16, 2011

#SPRINGBREAK

Hello my lovelies,
P.S. - in advance, I plan on making this a long post (for no particular reason) I just have many random things that I would like to fill you in on that has to do with my life.

So.....

WOO HOO!

SPRING BREAK IS HERE!


I swear I can breathe now! haha

Friday was color wars at my school (it's like a field day). It was so much fun, but a little chilly. I spent the day with my friends and took tons of pics :)

But, I think the whole day I was more concerned about all the things I would be able to do now that break is here. My mind has been everywhere from needing to go shopping to wanting to take some time to make a few fashion sketches *Fun Fact* (yes, I sketch fashion designs and have since I was in the 8th grade)! However, I still have to focus on preparing for the SATs which are coming up soon.... the one in May is slowly approaching and being that I am procrastination's #1 fan, it's hard for me to actually start my work.

So what can I fill you in on? Well, recently I've been thinking about my favorite comedians and people who are just hysterical. I've figured out that I'm obsessed with Jimmy Fallon. He is just so funny and I don't know what it is, he just makes me laugh until my stomach hurts! I love his show and now try to make an attempt to watch it whenever it's on lol. Another favorite comedian of mine is Ellen DeGeneres. Seriously, that woman is amazing. Everything she says, every word that comes out of her mouth is just hysterical. I love how she can truly make ANYTHING funny. I would love to be on her show one day and I would love to take this opportunity now and just make a shout out to her. So Ellen, if you ever come across this and read it, I hope you know that I would love to be on your show.... I'm seriously considering putting "get on Ellen Show" on my bucket list. Thank you for your time and for reading this. Sincerely, Kara Jae
haha.

Recently I've been in love with Kendall Jenner. I'm so jealous of that girl. She is so beautiful and has the longest legs known to mankind. I always wished I had really long legs or that I would be 5'9, but 5'5 is horrible isn't that bad. I love her style and the face that she doesn't have to pile on the makeup for a natural everyday look. She is naturally pretty. He modeling skills are insane - I would love to meet her one day.

Talking about style, I'm loving Hailee Steinfeld. She was the little girl who was nominated for an OSCAR at the age of 14 (yeah no joke) for True Grit. I really want to see that movie solely for the purpose to see her. From what I have heard, she did an amazing job and it was a true accomplishment. I also love her style. She isn't scared to wear anything different because she dresses for herself without caring what US Weekly or the media will say about her. She's just one of those girls that if I knew, I would want to be her friend. I hope I get to meet her one day and truly wish the best for her! She has such a future ahead of her!!

OMG I could not forget about my current JAM of the moment. JESSIE J is my music inspiration. Nobody's Perfect is my fav song at the moment and I just cannot stop abusing the replay button. Ugh, she is just to amazing. Her video for the song just came out and it is pretty awesome - go check it out for sure! Oh and my friend just bought her CD so I will be borrowing that from her pretty soon- more like tomorrow.
A new musician that I think is not recognized is Example (yes that's his name). Listen to Changed the Way you kissed me and Two Lives by him (Example) he's really good and his songs are kinda addicting - **beware** haha

OHH RANDOM SIDE note: check out my tumblr if you haven't http://missny09.tumblr.com/. I love it and Tumblr is just an amazing idea. The man who created it, well, YOU ROCK haha

I just started to make a list of my favorite models and I'll share them with you now haha because what's the point of making a list if I'm not going to use it for anything?... Anyway, my all time favorite is Miranda Kerr. She is just amazing and always knows the perfect pose. She has a organic cosmetic line that you guys should check out it's called Kora Organics, go look at it! Oh and she just had a son. Flynn so congrats Miranda and Orlando (ahh what a beautiful couple)
My other favorite model is Kendall Jenner, but I already mentioned her..... Emily Didonato is a fairly new model. She is only 17 and is Maybelline's main model girl. I'm jealous of her eyes. I want them (that sounds creepish, but y'all know what I mean) haha But, look at her stuff, she is unbelievable. Another favorite model happens to be a man hehe... his name is Francisco Lachowski. If you've never seen him, well stop what you are doing and google him NOW. He is literally a god. Bless him for being that good-looking! haha

Well, I think all of my interesting life stories have been told (even though they aren't stories - more like facts or statements, uhh let's use tidbits) I hope this fed your hunger of a real blog. It feels good to write this. I miss writing so much, but expect more blogs to be published now because I have some down-time.

Miss you darlings and come back for more!

Always,
Kara Jae

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Wake up girls! It's time to put your makeup on!

Hey Beauties!

Hope everyone is well! I miss you guys! I love blogging so much and when I finally have free time I jump at the chance to post something!

I was thinking about what to blog about and a great idea popped into my mind. When I was in my school play this past November, I had a double role. No not as a character. We’re talking behind the scenes. I was an actress (chorus member) in the play, but backstage doubled as a makeup artist. Haha weird. 

I never thought I would ever say that (or in this case write), but I think it’s kind of cool.

I never used to wear makeup. I was only 14 when I started putting it on and literally, I started with mascara.  It was a challenge learning how to do makeup. There were so many things to do.  Put it on. Take it off. And so many questions to answer: How much to put on? When to put it on? What colors to use? What products and companies to get things from?
                       
Yeah.
           
How could all of these questions be answered when I hadn't really used makeup that much before?

Well after 3 years, a lot of practice, and accumulated knowledge, I know the answers to the questions and can put on a face of makeup in less than a minute (Not bad huh? But then again it does depend on where I am going.) haha

So, if you haven't figured it out by now, this post is going to be about makeup.......


To start off, all of the products I use are from MAC Cosmetics. They are one of the best makeup companies around. Now, of course, not every single thing in your makeup bag has to be MAC, but the main products (foundation, primer, blush, eye shadows [some], and bronzer) should be. You can get different eye shadows or mascaras from other places, but I would recommend MAC first (they tend to be a bit on the expensive side, so if you can find a cheaper alternative, I’m sure it will work too).

I'm not going to get into how to apply foundation or eyeshade the perfect way, or what you should use first or what colors for eyes, but I will share with you some of my FAVORITE makeup artists who know how to apply it the proper way. I admire them so much and are mentors to me.

Kandee Johnson and Mario Dedivanovic are the best. Check out Kandee's Blog and YouTube channel (I think it's KandeeJohnson) and Mario's blog http://blog.makeupbymario.com/
 They all give such great guidance and help you understand the basis of applying makeup and how to use it. Kandee has replicated a lot of "celebrity looks" so if you are looking for a particular color, or style check out her stuff. Mario really explains the use of makeup and how to apply it. They are both great people to keep an eye on and take makeup advice from.

As for makeup ideas or different looks... start anywhere. You have a web of knowledge right at your finger tips. Use pictures of celebrities or models that you like to base a look you like from. Once you find one, see if you can replicate it.

Here are some pictures of makeup looks that I love:




I think the best way to really become good at doing makeup is practice. You will achieve the perfect look where you feel most comfortable through trial and error. Eventually, it will all become second nature to you. Once you become more comfortable with applying makeup, you can experiment more!

I might post a blog of stuff that's in my makeup bag soon! So stay tuned

With love and beautiful faces,
Kara

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Update Time

Hey guys!

I know I've been really bad with updating my blog and everything, but I've been really busy doing school work and making college visits! This year has been so crazy and hectic!

I'm promise I will do a blog - a - thon when I have the chance, maybe Easter break, although it's far away....

I have tons to say and will be posting soon .. so stay on your toes and don't ever leave! Love you guys!!


Kara Jae